Homemaking vs. Housekeeping

Housekeeping:the management and care of a residence, keeping it clean and orderly.
Homemaking: the spiritual and temporal care and management of a residence, to make a safe and secure place for families and individuals, creating an atmosphere of peace, unity, balance and love that world cannot provide.

I have learned that it does not matter what type of structure we live in. I have the choice to make my house, apartment, condo, or room-in-a-basement a home. Since being married I have lived by this familiar scripture:

aOrganize yourselves; prepare every needful thing; and establish a bhouse, even a house of prayer, a house of fasting, a house of faith, a house of learning, a house of glory, a house of order, a house of God. (D&C 88:119).

My first priority as a homemaker is to keep the Spirit a constant resident in our home. We have pictures of the temple, the Savior, and other uplifting images on our walls, we listen to good music, we say our prayers and most of all we always talk about the gospel.

My second priority is to try and keep things clean and orderly. I cannot always have my home looking immaculate, but I have noticed that when we are more diligent at housecleaning we feel happier and there is less contention.

It does not matter what type of housing structure we live in. We have the opportunity to create a place for us to dwell that is a safe haven from the outside world. My husband and have lived in the same apartment for almost 4 years, but it is our home because we feel love, peace, contentment, happiness, safety, security, joy, comfort, and most importantly we feel the Spirit.

One of my favorite things to do is to decorate for any holiday that I can. And when I say ‘decorate’ I really only ever decorate with a few things for each holiday (Christmas being the exception). My husband and I feel that those few simple decorations help us feel the true spirit of what we are celebrating.

Better Homes and Gardens Centerpiece

Better Homes and Gardens Centerpiece

Deseret Book offers various home decor for year-round and seasonal purposes.
Here are some Simple and Frugal Decorating ideas for Fall by Blissfully Domestic.
Involve your kids in your seasonal decorating! Kaboose has some great Fall Craft projects.

One Response

  1. I’ve never heard it explained in that way before. Thanks for sharing the importance and the difference in the two (housecleaning and homemaking).

    Kalisha

Leave a Reply

