Conference: An Opportunity to Change Our Hearts

I think the story of King Benjamin in the Book of Mormon is one of my most favorites.  King Benjamin called all of his people together to declare his son Mosiah as the king who would reign after him.  He wanted to tell his people about the promises available to them if they would be diligent in keeping the Lord’s commandments.

In Mosiah, Chapter 2, verses 5-6 we learn how the people responded to this call.

5 And it came to pass that when they came up to the temple, they pitched their tents round about, every man according to his afamily, consisting of his wife, and his sons, and his daughters, and their sons, and their daughters, from the eldest down to the youngest, every family being separate one from another.
6 And they pitched their tents round about the temple, every man having his atent with the door thereof towards the temple, that thereby they might remain in their tents and hear the words which king Benjamin should speak unto them;
This weekend, we have an opportunity to  listen to vital words from the leaders of Christ’s church.  We can learn a valuable lesson about how to prepare ourselves to receive the messages that will be delivered, by looking again at King Benjamin’s people in verse 9.
9 And these are the words which he aspake and caused to be written, saying: My brethren, all ye that have assembled yourselves together, you that can hear my words which I shall speak unto you this day; for I have not commanded you to come up hither to btrifle with the words which I shall speak, but that you should chearken unto me, and open your ears that ye may hear, and your dhearts that ye may understand, and your eminds that the fmysteries of God may be unfolded to your view.
I’m excited to open my ears, my heart, and my mind.  I have faith that the mysteries of God will be unfolded to me, and that messages the Lord would have me hear will be waiting for me as I pitch my tent to hear his servants speak.  I know there will be messages for you, too.
Leave a Reply

