Flip Flops of Faith

The other day was Mr. Sunbeam’s birthday.  Being the perfect (yeah right!) wife that I am, I planned a little get together with some of our dear friends and their families at a park near our house so that Mr. Sunbeam could relax a little and enjoy the day to it’s fullest. 

The next morning I was about to go shopping with my son when I realized we were missing his shoes.  After looking for what seemed like hours and tearing up my entire house,  all I could find was a single flip flop that he wears to go swimming in – which are not ideal for walking around much since they constantly fall off.  Since the shoes we were looking for are the only other pair besides the flip flolps, I was getting a little distressed.  In my head I was thinking, “Why do BOTH pairs of shoes have to be problamatic?  Why can’t I at least just find the other flip-flop so we can go to the store and get things done?!”

And then the answer came.

The reason I couldn’t find the other flip flop is because I needed to find the other shoes.  I needed my faith to increase.  I quickly decided that however small and insignificant my son’s shoes may seem, they were important enough to me to ask my Heavenly Father about where to find them.  After kneeling down and offering a simple prayer, I picked up my barefoot son and headed out to the car.  Still feeling a little unsure about the shoes, I decided that I could check the park where we had celebrated my husband’s birthday at the night before. 

It was like I knew just where they would be.  I parked the car, got out and walked straight to them.  I didn’t even have to search the playground.  Someone had left both of them, side by side, on a picnic table.  It was that easy. 

It amazes me how much my faith grew from such a small experience.  People had been using that park all day, and anyone could have taken those shoes.  Someone could have thrown them away in the trash.  Someone could have even turned them in to the business that was near the park.  But instead someone listened to the spirit, whether they knew it or not, and there they were sitting patiently, waiting for me to come get them.

  It wasn’t anything extrodinary that happend; an angel didn’t come down and tell me where to find the shoes – but like so many steps of faith it was a small, simple experience that allowed my testimony to grow. 

 I am so thankful for a loving Heavenly Father who cares enough about his children to give them opportunities to increase their faith in Him and look after their every need… even when it’s just a simple pair of shoes.

