F.H.E. Flops?

With a 3-year old and a 10-month old our Family Home Evening nights are anything but smooth.  This last week LJ, my super hubby, gave a lesson on baptism.  K, my 3-year old, is deathly afraid of water on her head.  Washing her hair is a down and out fight every time.  Needless to say, the minute LJ explained we are “baptized by immersion” our F.H.E. turned into a crying session with K screaming, “I don’t want to be baptized!” at the top of her lungs.  Not exactly the point we were hoping to emphasize.   

LJ and I tried to salvage the lesson by explaining K didn’t have to decide if she was going to be baptized until she is 8-years old.  We also showed her a picture of Christ being baptized by John the Baptist.  We told her that Christ was being baptized because he really wanted to be baptized.  Christ wanted to show Heavenly Father he loved Him.   

I feel like there have been many times in my life that the Holy Ghost has led the growth of my testimony.  For me it begins many times with a concept I’ve been taught, something I know because I know it in my head.  Somehow, the Holy Ghost then takes that concept and teaches it to me through thoughts and experiences.  Then slowly the concept moves from my head, to my heart, to a part of who I am.  One of my most personal pleas to the Father as a mother is that the Lord will allow the Holy Ghost to be with my kids to teach them in such a way that only the Holy Ghost can. 

This week I’ve been able to watch that prayer answered.  Before K goes to bed we usually read a minute or two from the children’s scripture series.  We just read straight through the book, so it surprised me this week when two of our scripture studies were on baptism.  K asked tons of questions about baptism and hung the picture of Christ being baptized up on the fridge so she could look at it a lot.

Just last night on a drive somewhere K asked once again, “Jesus wanted to be baptized Mom?”

 “Yep, he did K.” -me

“And you wanted to be baptized and Daddy?” 

“Yep, we did.” -me

“And Joseph Smith?” 

“Yep.”  -me

“And I’m little and I can when I’m bigger?” 

“That’s right” -me 

“But, I’m starting to be bigger.” 

“Yes, you are starting to be bigger” –me

“Okay, I’ll try it.”

K is quite stubborn and only does things when she has made up her own mind to do them. I fought her for a month on potty training and finally just gave up.  About two months after I quit trying, she up and decided one day she wanted to start going on the potty.  She had one accident and never looked back.  When I heard her little, “Okay, I’ll try it.” I knew it was one of those little tender mercies from the Lord personally given to a mom trying to do her best.  My little tender mercies are usually things that make my heart laugh at this stage of the game.  I am so grateful for them; because things like little K’s, “But I’m starting to be bigger” pull at my heartstrings a little.  How did this happen?  My kids are starting to be bigger!