Struggles With Self-Worth

 In my experience, it seems that every woman in the world has felt inadequate and has questioned their self-worth in one way or another at some point in their life.  “I’m not pretty enough, skinny enough, brave enough, smart enough, organized enough, trendy enough, kind enough…” the list goes on and on.  For some reason, we constantly judge and compare ourselves to the people around us who seem to have it all. 

 As a teenager and even throughout part of college, I struggled deeply with feelings of self-worth.  I guess you could say it was one of my biggest trials.  I felt these same feelings of being fat, akward, and never quite as “good” as everyone else around me.  To anyone who knew me back then however, this may come as a surpise.  I was on student council, had a lot of friends, went on dates, and was even in Homecoming royalty my senior year of high school.  I was one of those people who to others might “seem to have it all”.  But inside, I was hurting.

 I remember a point when I felt like I couldn’t go on anymore.  I wasn’t worth it…I wasn’t worth anything.  In an act of desperation I got on my knees and simply asked for my Heavenly Father to please help me.  It was then that there came a familiar feeling that I hadn’t felt in a really long time.  A feeling of warmth, love and happiness that completely encircled me and brought me back home.  The Holy Ghost came into my heart and testified that I was worth it.  That I was a child of God, and that He loved me and has a plan for me.

 The relief and peace that I experinced that day allowed me to get up and keep going – but this time, in a better direction.  I’d like to say that I never struggled with those negative and inadequate feelings again, but in truth and although it’s much better than it was, it continues to be a trial for me.  I take comfort in a scripture from the Book of Mormon that says:

And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness.  I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.

– Ether 12:27

 I have a testimony that we are all children of Heavenly parents who love us and want us to return to them some day.  When I remember that, who I truly am, it makes it easier to love myself despite my faults and weaknesses.  If you struggle with feelings of inadequacy or self-worth, I challenge you to get on your knees and humbly ask your Father in heaven for help.  Your “inadequacy” may not go away, but if we are willing to let Him, He will help us change the way we think about it.  He truly can make weak things become strong for us.

3 Responses

  1. Sister Sunbeam,

    I can assure you that every woman in the world can relate to your post.

    One of my favorite sayings is: Don’t allow yourself to be someone you are not, but give yourself permission to be the person you are.

    Each of us are unique individuals, and despite our flaws and weaknesses, we should love and accept ourselves, especially when we start to understand who we really are. Isn’t it great that we have a loving God who can help us be stronger women? Who else is better to help us than Him 🙂

    Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Oh, yes. I totally get this. It can become exhausting comparing yourself to others.

    Thanks for sharing the scripture. It’s a good reminder for me.

  3. Great site Sister S.! You are a great example of faith and charity….you lift others up around you constantly and affect others for good always. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

