A 10-Year-Old’s Testimony

It’s been a hard morning. The baby has been destroying things left and right.  Shoes are missing.  Suit jackets have chocolate inexplicably covering them.  We’re running late for church and I am in a mood. 

It’s fast and testimony meeting, and as I’m wrestling the two-year-old, my eldest son gets up and walks to the podium.  I’m used to this.  The boy has been bearing his testimony regularly since he was four.  I’ve watched his testimony grow from repeating words whispered in his ear, to heartfelt sentiments that he truly believes. 

He takes a deep breath and begins to speak.

“I know that the Lord answers our prayers.  But it might not be right away.”

He proceeds to tell the congregation about our two-day search for his glasses. 

We’d both been frustrated during that search.  But he had especially, because every other time he’d prayed to find something, it had been found almost immediately.  In an effort to help him understand, I told him that sometimes the Lord expects us to work and have faith when we pray for help.  We can know that help will come, although we may be uncertain of the timetable.   I was reminding myself as much as anything.  But apparently…my son was listening.

I know that trials are not pleasant.  Sometimes we may throw up our hands in the air and beg for relief. 

 But during the peaceful times, how often are we compelled to throw up our hands.

We learn during trials.  Our testimony is strengthened and we learn that we must place our faith in the Lord.

It will be hard for me to be grateful the next time one of my childrens’ shoes, library books, or lunch money goes missing.  I hope I remember the lesson of the glasses, and the testimony it helped grow in a 10-year-old boy.

2 Responses

  1. Your 10-year old is an amazing little boy. His example has reminded me that I should feel silly when I pray about the little things 🙂 Everything should be important enough to pray about, right?

  2. Um, correction: I should not feel silly when praying about the little things.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

